21 things I learned after I moved to New Orleans

I have almost a year in this wonderful city, you heard that ALMOST A YEAR, I’ve made it, I’ve manage not to run away from love!! And in celebration of me not having an overall break down here are somethings I had to learn after moving to New Orleans.

  1.  It’s pronounced “New OAR-linz”, all though I can hear the difference my thick hispanic accent wont let me pronounce it this way.
  2. Bourbon Street it’s full of tourist that don’t know how to act and it smells like piss, locals take it to Frenchmen Street.
  3. OMG is Tuesday, lets party!! There is always a reason to get together eat and drink.
  4. Mardi Gras or carnival is a month-long event.
  5. It rains on Monday, your car windows will be frozen on Tuesday, and you’re likely to die of heat exposure on Wednesday.
  6. Good driving skills aren’t that necessary, as long as you are able to get from point A to point B in one piece you’re good.
  7. Normal food portions aren’t necessary neither; if it fits on the plate then you’re good.
  8. You’ll get confused and think someone is from Brooklyn, when in fact they were born and raised in New Orleans based on their accent.
  9. Beads are not meant to be purchased, beads are meant to be caught.
  10. We don’t leave our house before 11 pm if we are going out.
  11. Living next to a cemetery where all graves are above ground is not as scary as it sounds.
  12. You won’t be killed just by stepping outside; yes there is crime in Nola, but life here is not like a bad action movie.
  13. Time to leave the bar and you haven’t finish your drink, do not worry TO GO cups and drinking on the streets is allowed.
  14. Do not show your boobs during Mardi Gras, DO try to get as many beads as you can in a decent way.
  15. People will smile and talk to you at random times in random places, don’t be scared just smile back and chat for a little.
  16. If you are not into football or are not a Saints fan you better get used to hearing WHO DAT being yell out at random times.
  17. People take pride on their costumes for carnival or Halloween, you won’t go to a Halloween party when no one dresses up or costumes are lame, there are months, maybe years of preparation for this day.
  18. A Po-Boy is a sub sandwich; I had to ask what it was when I first moved.
  19. Voodoo is as normal as fried chicken.
  20. It is a parish not a county, yes I was confused too.
  21. New Orleanians are proud of their city, they love it and will always represent!!!

I hope these come in handy if you ever visit or move here, feel free to like, comment or share!!

XOXO

 

Leave a comment