What a long day it was.

This past friday my first official Friday afternoon off, since the holidays off do not really count, and although a lot went wrong, at the end if was a great day. Let me tell you how my afternoon went.

I got off work at 3 pm, which  is unusually early, normally they like to keep me there until what it feels like the end of times, I was as happy as a bee, I went home and finished unpacking my clothes, since I had moved days ago and I was still pulling clothes out of a suitcase, and knowing me if I didn’t do it I would be pulling clothes out of a suitcase 3 months later.

I finished unpacking and at this point my roommate says she is hungry, I said well I can go get something to eat with you then you go to work and I go shooting around the city, it was a plan, we took showers got ready and left the house walking, we are not two blocks away when she says she forgot her wallet, I said let’s go back and get it and I can drive instead of walking, that way you wont be late for work. So we went back for her wallet and jumped in my car, we made it down to Felipe’s (yummy Mexican food for the win) in no time, like always parking in the City of New Orleans is a pain in the ass, literally your butt cheeks would fall sleep as you drive around and around trying to find a parking space, so when we found an open space right next to the restaurant we didn’t think twice, we had hit the jackpot and we were happy about it.

We go inside, she goes for the food, I go for the drinks (of course I go for the drinks), as we sat at the table, margaritas in hand, I see bright flashing lights out side the window, right were I parked my car, bright yellow tow truck lights, and I take off running, ” I am here, I am here” I scream as I run out of the restaurant ” Oh my God, I am so fucked, I am here”, I was too late, the tow lady already has my car hocked and ready to go, I try to talked her out of taking my car, I tried crying (I think that only works on guys though), I tried explaining to her that I misread the sight ( which to my defense was really confusing), she said there’s nothing she can do after the car is hocked and that I need to pick it up at such and such address, and that if I grab a taxi from the Quarters they would know exactly where to go, I am guessing because they’ve taken a bunch of other mes there. At this point there’s nothing I can do so I decided to walk my friend to work and finish my drink, and request a Uber.

I get in the Uber and as we both say hello we notice our accents match so we immediately start speaking Spanish, he told me I could sit in the front and I explain to him my situation and where I was going, he tells me he is not too sure of where the location is but that we would find it together, I am already liking this ride is all about team work, even when I am going to be paying him at the end of the ride, we talk about out back grown and how he is an accountant, great now I have someone to do my taxes too, we get to the place and is dark and scary under the highway, he tells me how ask if is here and I’ll wait here to make sure you are safe and in the correct place, awwwwww total estrange making sure I am ok, faith in humanity restored. I walk in ask if I am in the correct place and if my car is there, they say yes, I stick my head out the door and I wave the Uber goodbye, he waves back and takes off.

Well this was easy I though, I go to the counter ready to pay my dues and drive off into de night, and then the guy on the other side of the glass asked me for my registration, hahahaha my what you said? ” Your registration” he repeats, I stare at him and started crying, as I search in the pile of papers I pulled out my car, and I don’t see my registration, he looks at me like “the fuck is wrong with this girl” as I tel him, tears (real this time) rolling down my eyes that I don’t have it, he says that he would accept the title of the car instead, but I don’t have neither, he looks at me and says “go get it”, I look at him and say “But I don’t have a car!”.

At this point I just gave up hope, because all this documents are at my mother’s house, my mother whom was oppose to me moving out, my mother whom if I show up out of the nowhere looking for papers and not in my car is going to start questioning me, and I am a terrible lair. Also the more money I spend on Ubers the less I have available to pay fo the actual ticket to get my damn car! So there I was staring at this stranger on the other side of the glass, face wet, eyes turning red, thinking “She won, and I’ve only been out the house for a week”, but I have no other option I have to go get the documents, so I requested yet and other Uber and I told the tow center guy I’ll be back.

I get into my 2nd over of the night, I would him the address and that asked him if he could wait for me, he says yeah and we set off, destination my mother’s house. We start talking, he tells me he is from the Philippines and I tell him I was surprise to learn a lot of people from his country have “spanish” last names, he explains to me they used to be a Spanian colony as well, and how some people even speak spanish over there, this Uber ride turns out to be super educational. We pull up to my mothers, I tell him give me a sec and walk into the house.

“Hi mom!”

“Hi. what you doing here?”

*panic, I didn’t think of a lie on the car ride here*

“I have to pick up some papers, I just noticed I didn’t have in my car”

*Intense questioning and live lessons about drinking “illegally”*

“Got them, love you mom, goodbye”

*Just run out of the house before is too late*

“Wait!”

*Fuck*

“Sup?”

“I need you to come back on Monday help me out with some stuff”

“OK, see you Monday”

At this moment I actually ran out the house, and got in the Uber, back to the tow center it is, after a really deep conversation with my Uber driver about how different the educational system in our countries is from the US, and how sometimes we don’t feel comfortable expressing our point of views among Americans, I get dropped off back at the tow center, I walk in show off my tittle and my ID, pay $181.00, which now leaves me partially broke, and get my car.

While all this is happening, this guy I’ve been seen is texting me asking me to come have dinner with him, I said yes to drive all the way to his house, because he always drives to me, and its only fair, specially after he helped me move all my crap on his only day off, so once I got my car I set my GPS to his address, I’ve never been there before, and it shows approximate time 55 minutes, at this point I’m actually reconsidering this relationship, yes base on the driving distance, I am shallow like that, deal with it! The weather was disgusting (still is right now as I type this), the fog didn’t allow me to see much, and the road was slippery, I had to cross this extremely long bridge, and I couldn’t see, if any of you have seen the movie The Mist, this was exactly like that movie, so yes I was waiting for some creature to come and eat me at any moment.

As I drive I see less and less civilization, I leave all the shopping centers and properly lighten roads behind, I make a right turn and now I am in a little country road, with only one line in each direction, not lights and trees on each side, I am in the middle of the fucking woods, in the south and I am not white! * Please don’t let my car break down* *If I see people trying to stop me in the middle of the road I am running them over* *Is he a murder and he waited a whole month to kill* *Did I told my mom I loved her when I left the house*, this ran in my head while I was driving, at one point I actually stopped to make a U-turn, but I was only 5 minutes away and I honestly don’t know how I made it that far.

My phone rang, and my own right tone scared the life out of me, I actually farted when I heard it (yes, body the smell of the Mexican food I had earlier while win the fight against an ax murder, farting it what we should be doing), I answered the phone and he told me he was waiting for me outside so I wouldn’t miss the house (the house in woods and its pitch black, fuck yeah I missed it) and at this moment I actually asked him” Are you going to kill me and bury me in the woods?” , because yeah he is going to tell me that was his plan all along, while I was still in the car and I was able to just drive away, again I don’t know how I made it that far! I spot him in the middle of the road waving at me, he gets in the car I ask where do I par, he says anywhere, we go in the house, as he gets ready to go out, I am still thinking tonight is the night I die, and its going to be just like an episode of Criminal Minds, at least I’ll make a good story line. I am also thinking of how stupid I am, and I should never trust my survival instincts because they fucking suck, I literally put myself in what could have been a dangerous situation, and even with multiple opportunities to get out of if I didn’t!!!!

He gets ready, we go to dinner to the nearest town (30 minutes away from his house), I order a margarita, and question my survival instinct again as I stopped myself from drinking the whole thing, an hour or so later we ride back to his house so I can pick up my car and make the hour-long drive back home, I looked at the time and it is only 11 pm, damn a lot of shit has happened and it is still kind of early. I kissing him goodbye and drive away, I didn’t notice I didn’t have the radio on until I made it back to the city, because you know can’t concentrated on driving correctly and finding my way home if the radio is on. I walked in my house and looked back and everything that had happen, and I told myself I would make a good reality TV on how to be stupid,I looked at the clock and it was only 12:30 am, what a long day it was, and I went to sleep . For the up coming Friday afternoons I plan to stick to the original going for a coffee or taking photos plan.

3 thoughts on “What a long day it was.”

  1. Oh my goodness! I saw a post from you on FB and was afraid to ask what was going on. What a rotten night on so many levels. I hate when one thing after another happens like that. I have been there before trust me…so you have my commiserations. One thing though to be sure to do. At the original Mexican place with the parking spot, try to go back and take a photo of the spot and the parking signs. If it is confusing/missing/not clear then you should fight the original ticket. Hope your week goes better and we get some new photos when you are ready 🙂

    Like

    1. So far it just gotten worse lol,, I tried to go get a copy of my registration, and guess what?? I have a hold on it and I didn’t even knew it, I can’t get the copy until I pay about 130, plus I got 2 tickets from a traffic camera I didnt even knew bout neither.. Right now I am just laughing so I wont cry lol…Thank you for the good vibes I need them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

