It is always good to have a beer with an old friend.

“A guy and a girl meet at a bar…

Guy: thank you for meeting me up, it’s been so long. I didn’t think you will accept my invite, it’s nice to see your face. I’ve missed you.

Girl: I missed you too, it is kind of weird to be sitting across from you after so much time.

Guy: It actually feels normal to me, like if the last time I saw you was yesterday and we can just continue where we left off.

Girl: I guess I get what you are saying, but the last time we saw each other wasn’t yesterday and we can’t just take on where we left off two years ago.

Guy: So I guess you are just going to jump to it right away, huh?

Girl: It wouldn’t be me if i didn’t, wouldn’t it?

They both share a small but genuine laugh….

Guy: It’s true it wouldn’t. I just wanted to see you, talk to you like we used to do before, drink a beer, talk none sense.

Girl: We could do that if I didn’t know that there is something more to it, a hidden motive for you to reach out to me. Probably something similar to when we first met.

Guy: I don’t need a hidden motive to talk to you!

Girl: You don’t, that is true, but you have one. And knowing you, you probably don’t even know what it is yourself.

Guy: Ha! You think you know me so well, don’t you?

Girl: I don’t actually, people change and it has been two years, but I know the person you were two years ago, would only reach out for me as a way to escape his reality.

Guy: That’s not true, I reached out before and I reach out again today because I care about you and I like knowing that you are ok, I like knowing about your life, talking to you was always good to me.

Girl: I never said you didn’t care, I am sure you did, and still do, but you cared because I gave you a break from your life, from your job, your kids, your wife…

He looks down, as if he was accepting what she was saying was true, there is a few seconds of silence. He starts talking, but she interrupts him

Girl: If you had cared as much as you say you did, we wouldn’t be sitting here talking about it, you wouldn’t be divorce and running from a new relationship, you would have been divorce, but we would be sitting in our living room watching some movie you’ve probably forced me to watch.I would probably still be calling this place home instead of the place I come on vacations.

Guy: I’m sorry I didn’t..

Girl: It’s ok, it is not your fault, I didn’t plan to fall in love with you, I can’t blame you for not noticing it. I knew the rules of the game when I met you, I broke them you didn’t.

Guy: Maybe if you would have told me.

Girl: I didn’t think I had to, I though it was so obvious that I loved you, I though you could see it, haha I was so naive.

He can’t find words, they sit in silence once more.

Girl: In a way I am really thankful to you I must say.

Guy: What do you mean?

Girl: Well thanks to you breaking my heart I’ve grown so much, I live in a different city, I’ve met some new people, I’ve put myself out of my element…. I also know that I am worth much more, that I deserve to love and to be loved by someone who is proud of being with me, someone for whom I am his reality and not an escape from it.

Guy: I never wanted you to feel or think that…

Girl: It’s ok, I know you didn’t. And I don’t hate you… anymore.

They both laugh.

Guy: Thanks again for meeting up with me.

Girl: It is always good to have a drink with an old friend.”

This is my attempt at a short story, it is inspired on my life, although it is not real. I hope you guys like it and can in some level relate to it. It is 3:45 am and I can’t sleep so I though sharing what keeps me awake could help.

Like always all writing and photography is done by me, so if it doesn’t make sense, I speak no english and I can barely hold a camera lol.

Feel free to like, comment or share!!

XOXO

3 thoughts on “It is always good to have a beer with an old friend.”

  1. Soranny this is fabulous! I mean really! This was engaging and I was not sure how it would turn out. You did really great on this and you should do it more! PS-your English is fine and you definitely know how to hold a camera straight. I want to buy that one photo of yours I love so much. Seriously 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

