Maps

Source: Soundtrack Of A Photograph

I used to have this kids encyclopedia growing up, it had 7 volumes if I don’t remember wrong , science, Spanish, etc, my two favorite ones where History and Geography. The History one was divided in ancient and modern history, also was the Geography one. I loved to look up ancient places and then compare to the modern map, after I had located the ancient empire in the modern map, had seen how its Geographic form had change throughout the years I would go to  the History encyclopedia and read on the events that had forced the changes.

I used to spend hours and hours of my childhood just sitting in my room examining these books, and as time passed, I grew up, I stopped checking the books, I forgot most of what I taught myself and now I am lucky if I make it anywhere without getting lost while using my GPS.

Yes I still know how to read a map, something my dad is really proud about, and I still like history, mostly only the good parts of it, but I have grown apart from that little girl who was so amazed at the world sitting in her room traveling from place to place and in time while still sitting in her room nose deep in a book.

When I saw this post it brought back so many memories and I wanted to comment on it, I started this as a comment for the post and I ended with a post of my own, thank you for a great post, for the memories and the inspiration.
Feel free to like, comment and share!!
 And don’t forger to follow Soundtrack Of A Photograph
XOXO
