Waiting for a letter

I’ve been waiting for a letter, not one in specific just any letter.

I can’t remember when was the last time I got a letter, not a bill or an advert, but an actual letter. Something that someone wrote for me on paper and ink, because they missed me, loved me or wanted to tell me how their summer went.

To tell you the truth I don’t think I’ve ever actually gotten a letter. Yes, I’ve had letters given to me, by friends or family.

Remember those little notes your friends wrote for you in first grade with the help of the teacher on valentine’s day, everyone had their own special mailbox in the classroom, and by the time valentine’s day comes we were all excited running around telling everyone “I got 20 letters!” and “You are my best friend!”, those were great!!

Why don’t we do that anymore?

 I’ve been waiting for a letter, not one in specific just any letter.

Today I was walking my dog Bob, I saw the mail man doing his rounds, and I wondered if I got a letter.

I love Bob, he does not send me letters, but I know if he could he would.

He expresses his love and affection in other ways, for example, he caught a bluejay for me the other day at the park, sometimes I think he believes he is a cat, I felt sorry for the bird, but I know Bob meant well.

I’ve been waiting for a letter, not one in specific just any letter.

Is too early in the morning for extra syrup, but pancakes are breakfast food after all, so extra syrup it is today. My dog Bob keeps begging to eat off my plate, I love Bob, but I don’t think dogs can have pancakes; it might not be healthy for him, sorry Bob not today.

As I look at Bob, I think of the bluejay and I wonder if I’ll get a letter today.

I’ve been waiting for a letter, not one in specific just any letter.

All this time I’ve been waiting for someone, anyone to send me a letter, and then I realized I haven’t sent anyone a letter myself.

Maybe if I send a letter, someone will send me a letter in return.

So I looked at Bob and said “Bob today we send letters to our friends!” I’m sure he had no idea of what I was saying but he sure did help!

So I wrote, he printed his paws and letters we sent!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A Dog Named Bob.”

3 thoughts on “Waiting for a letter”

Leave a Reply

