What’s your special place?

I know by now ya’ll most be sick and tired of hearing me talk about how much I love  New Orleans, but I am like a kid, I can’t stop talking about what makes me happy. Today as I scrolled down my reader page I found this post The Draw of the Moor , the writer talks about his favorite place back home and how much he loves it there, go read it for details, he ends the post by asking “What’s your special place?”

Canal Street
Canal Street

For some it is hard to understand the concept of a place making you happy or feel at peace. I was one of those before, I used to believe that it was impossible for place to be so special for someone to develop actual feelings of love or happiness just by going and standing there, and then i moved to New Orleans and everything change.

It hit me out of the nowhere, one day while I was walking around the French Quarters with my best friend aka my camera, I love this city!! I am happy here, I feel complete, even when all my friends and family are still back home in Miami, even when I was not born in city or this country, this is home and this is where I belong.

There’s nothing I love the most than walking around the city, people watching and taking photos, I love the people, I love the couture, I love the food, I love the smells (if you are in Bourbon it smells like pee but you grow to like it, or it might just be me).

It is true when they say home is where the heart is, my heart belongs to Nola.

Feel free to like, comment or share!!!

XOXO

PS:

In the spirit of inspiring others and keep the fun going on, why don’t you too answer the question; What’s your special place?

6 thoughts on “What’s your special place?”

  1. Though I wish I could travel around, finding lots of new places that I could call my special place, I think I have to be predicable and call it my home city, which is New York City. We moved earlier this year from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan to Queens, which is a lot more laid back, and quieter. It has done much good, being able to sit out on our little balcony (which we never had before) and hear birds in the morning, and feel a breeze, or to walk to the river a block away at night and just take it all in. Plus it has given me a whole new area to photograph which is always exciting. I have lots of places that mean much to me-Cape Cod, Ireland, the Hudson Valley, but what is special feels like home when you get right down to it.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I gather! I saw your NY photos (which were great by the way). I’m really liking your blog. Great photos, and great posts. Just the right kind of balance between the two and engaging posts. I wish I could shorten my blogs at times (and believe me I have tried!). Either it comes from being older and having more to say, or it is the unleashing of every thought that has been in my brain for years which I never allowed to escape. Really very happy to have stumbled upon your blog 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so much! I normally think my post are super long, hahaha. I wanted to have only a photo blog but my mind was crowded with ideas so I have to write sometimes, I am truly happy you enjoy my photos since I loved taking them and bringing them to you and the world. Your black and photos are amazing btw.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Once again, thank you for the compliments. You are enormously talented yourself and you have a lot of interesting things to say. I have been bouncing around your posts, but will try to look at them all in order some night. Photo blogs only, minus some kind of text are kind of a letdown to me in some ways. It is one thing if it is a travel essay sort of thing, but I like the combination of the two. If you get a chance check out a blog called monochromemoments. Terrific photographer with stream of conscious ‘poems.’

    Like

Leave a Reply

