Art Basel Miami

Every year for a week in December Miami Beach is submerge in an explosion of art and celebration during Art Basel. Leading galleries from North America, Latin America, Europe, Asia, and Africa show historical work from the masters of Modern and contemporary art, as well as newly created pieces by emerging stars. Paintings, sculptures, drawings, installations, photographs, films, and editioned works of the highest quality are on display at the main exhibition hall, while ambitious artworks and performances become part of the landscape at nearby beaches, Collins Park and SoundScape Park.

This is one, if not my favorite time of the year in Miami, and I am extremely sad I am missing it this year. What I like the most is that aside from all the well  recognized artist that are show cases in galleries, new and unknown artist are showing their on work on the streets, with my favorites being does that paint the murals outside the Wynwood Walls. It is an excellent way for new artists to get some exposure and for people who normally you wont find in an art gallery to  get involve and get to know more about art.

I believe if anyone has the opportunity to go to Miami during this time should take it and swing around the art district while there, I am sure you are going to have a great time.

Since I am missing this years festivities, this is one of my favorite pieces from last years. Unfortunately I do not know the name of the artist, all I can tell you is that it was painted on the outside wall of a restaurant, and I took the photo with my Iphone.

Art Basel Miami 2013
Art Basel Miami 2013
Leave a Reply

